Department Staff

Miss K Cook-Bell
Head of Science

Ms L Bellamy
Teacher of Science
Head of Year 11

Mrs A Hilton
Teacher of Science

Mr B Barker
Teacher of Science

Mrs J Daubney
2 i/c Science

Miss S Winfield
Teacher of Science
Head of Year 9

Miss M Styles
Teacher of Science

Miss C May
Teacher of Science
Assistant Headteacher

Miss R Taylor
2 i/c Science

Mr C Medley
Teacher of Science
Operations Manager

Mrs A Smith
Teacher of Science (NQT)

Mrs J Edwards
Senior Science Technician


At Lincoln Castle Academy, Science is taught as a single subject to Year 7 and Year 8 pupils, and in Year 9 the pupils experience the three ATs with specialist teachers as far as possible. All pupils are put into sets when entering the school, and progress is regularly monitored with termly tests as well as regular assessments. The Double Award Modular Science Course is followed at Key Stage 4 by all pupils whilst A-Level courses in Physics, Chemistry and Biology.

The Science Department comprises a suite of seven laboratories, six of which have been fully refurbished in recent years, and a teaching room. The preparation and storage areas are supplemented by two large staff work rooms where every teacher in the department has a desk and storage facilities for personal use.

The Science Department is led by a Head of Science and has 8 full time teaching staff and two laboratory technicians. The supporting management structure is defined by National Curriculum Key Stages, with teachers in charge of Key Stage 3 and Key Stage 4. Currently four teachers take the responsibility to give guidance and leadership in the three specialised subjects at A-Level, as well as being expected to suggest solutions or approaches to teaching at any Key Stage level within their own specialised fields.


The learning plans for each subject taught within each year group are available below; click on each image to view full size.